The daughter's tale a novel

Armando Lucas Correa
ebook - 2019

From the internationally bestselling author of The German Girl , an unforgettable, "searing" ( People ) saga exploring a hidden piece of World War II history and the lengths a mother will go to protect her children-perfect for fans of Lilac Girls , We Were the Lucky Ones , and The Alice Network. Seven decades of secrets unravel with the arrival of a box of letters from the distant past, taking readers on a harrowing journey from Nazi-occupied Berlin, to the South of France, to modern-day New York City. Berlin, 1939 . The dreams that Amanda Sternberg and her husband, Julius, had for their daughters are shattered when the Nazis descend on Berlin, burning down their beloved family bookshop and sending Julius to a concentration camp. Desperate to save her children, Amanda flees toward the South of France. Along the way, a refugee ship headed for Cuba offers another chance at escape and there, at the dock, Amanda is forced to make an impossible choice that will haunt her for the rest of her life. Once in Haute-Vienne, her brief respite is inter­rupted by the arrival of Nazi forces, and Amanda finds herself in a labor camp where she must once again make a heroic sacrifice. New York, 2015 . Eighty-year-old Elise Duval receives a call from a woman bearing messages from a time and country that she forced herself to forget. A French Catholic who arrived in New York after World War II, Elise is shocked to discover that the letters were from her mother, written in German during the war. Her mother's words unlock a floodgate of memories, a lifetime of loss un-grieved, and a chance-at last-for closure. Based on true events and "breathtakingly threaded together from start to finish with the sound of a beating heart" ( The New York Times Book Review ), The Daughter's Tale is an unforgettable family saga of love, survival, and redemption.

Saved in:

Holdings -

Bibliographic Details
Main Author: Correa, Armando Lucas
Format: Electronic eBook
Language:English
Published: 2019.
Subjects:
Online Access:Click here for information and access to this electronic book. You will be leaving Spokane Public Library's web site.
Click to Expand/Hide Other Versions -
Search Result 1
The daughter's tale
a novel
large type
by Correa, Armando Lucas, 1959-
Published 2020
 Place a Hold
Search Result 2
by Correa, Armando Lucas, 1959-
Published 2019
 Place a Hold
Search Result 3
The daughter's tale
a novel
compact disc unabridged
by Correa, Armando Lucas, 1959-
Published 2019
 Place a Hold

MARC

LEADER 00000nam a2200000Ka 4500
001 911391
006 m d
007 cr cn---------
008 190207s2019 nyu s 000 1 eng d
005 20230620165110.2
020 |a 9781501187957 (electronic bk) 
035 |a ODN0004501164 
037 |a D0FD8792-D8F5-4F10-8D9A-5B6E9F8A572E  |b OverDrive, Inc.  |n http://www.overdrive.com 
040 |a TEFOD  |c TEFOD 
084 |a FIC008000  |a FIC019000  |a FIC014050  |2 bisacsh 
092 |a EBOOK 
100 1 |a Correa, Armando Lucas. 
245 1 4 |a The daughter's tale: a novel  |h [ebook].  |c Armando Lucas Correa. 
260 |c 2019. 
300 |a 1 online resource 
336 |a text  |b txt  |2 rdacontent 
337 |a computer  |b c  |2 rdamedia 
338 |a online resource  |b cr  |2 rdacarrier 
520 |a From the internationally bestselling author of The German Girl , an unforgettable, "searing" ( People ) saga exploring a hidden piece of World War II history and the lengths a mother will go to protect her children-perfect for fans of Lilac Girls , We Were the Lucky Ones , and The Alice Network. Seven decades of secrets unravel with the arrival of a box of letters from the distant past, taking readers on a harrowing journey from Nazi-occupied Berlin, to the South of France, to modern-day New York City. Berlin, 1939 . The dreams that Amanda Sternberg and her husband, Julius, had for their daughters are shattered when the Nazis descend on Berlin, burning down their beloved family bookshop and sending Julius to a concentration camp. Desperate to save her children, Amanda flees toward the South of France. Along the way, a refugee ship headed for Cuba offers another chance at escape and there, at the dock, Amanda is forced to make an impossible choice that will haunt her for the rest of her life. Once in Haute-Vienne, her brief respite is inter­rupted by the arrival of Nazi forces, and Amanda finds herself in a labor camp where she must once again make a heroic sacrifice. New York, 2015 . Eighty-year-old Elise Duval receives a call from a woman bearing messages from a time and country that she forced herself to forget. A French Catholic who arrived in New York after World War II, Elise is shocked to discover that the letters were from her mother, written in German during the war. Her mother's words unlock a floodgate of memories, a lifetime of loss un-grieved, and a chance-at last-for closure. Based on true events and "breathtakingly threaded together from start to finish with the sound of a beating heart" ( The New York Times Book Review ), The Daughter's Tale is an unforgettable family saga of love, survival, and redemption. 
533 |a Electronic reproduction.  |b New York :  |c Atria Books,  |d 2019.  |n Requires the Libby app or a modern web browser. 
650 1 7 |a Fiction.  |2 OverDrive 
650 7 |a Historical Fiction.  |2 OverDrive 
650 7 |a Literature.  |2 OverDrive 
655 7 |a Electronic books.  |2 local 
776 1 |c Original  |z 9781501187940 
856 4 0 |u http://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=100150&titleID=4501164  |z Click here for information and access to this electronic book. You will be leaving Spokane Public Library's web site.  |t 0 
999 f f |s 4a61afa8-e36d-469e-bba7-3d5e76473a36  |i 21d1107b-0416-4311-87e2-95c1d203513f  |t 0