A right worthy woman

a novel
Ruth P Watson
Book - 2023

"In the vein of The Engineer's Wife and Carolina Built, an inspiring novel based on the remarkable true story of Virginia's Black Wall Street and the indomitable Maggie Lena Walker, the daughter of a formerly enslaved woman who became the first Black woman to establish and preside over a bank in the United States"--

Saved in:

Holdings -

Liberty Park

Barcode Status Material Type CallNumber Availability
37413320679626 Checked out New Adult Fiction WATSON  Place A Hold
Bibliographic Details
Main Author: Watson, Ruth P. (Author)
Format: Book
Language:English
Published: New York, NY : Atria Books, an imprint of Simon & Schuster, Inc., 2023.
Edition:First Atria Books hardcover edition.
Subjects:

MARC

LEADER 00000cam a2200000 i 4500
001 909177
008 221110t20232023nyua e 000 f eng
005 20230821184602.7
010 |a  2022054545 
019 |a 1380851275  |a 1381030445 
020 |a 9781668003022  |q hardcover 
020 |a 1668003023  |q hardcover 
020 |a 9781668003039  |q paperback 
020 |a 1668003031  |q paperback 
035 |a (OCoLC)1347428309  |z (OCoLC)1380851275  |z (OCoLC)1381030445 
040 |a DLC  |b eng  |e rda  |c DLC  |d OCLCF  |d ORX  |d TOH  |d PCX  |d IK2  |d GL4  |d TXSCH  |d VP@  |d RNL  |d JRJ  |d YDX  |d YU6  |d ZGR  |d OCL  |d UAG 
042 |a pcc 
043 |a n-us-va 
049 |a UAGA 
082 0 0 |a 813/.6  |2 23/eng/20221110 
092 |a WATSON 
100 1 |a Watson, Ruth P.,  |e author. 
245 1 2 |a A right worthy woman :  |b a novel /  |c Ruth P. Watson. 
250 |a First Atria Books hardcover edition. 
264 1 |a New York, NY :  |b Atria Books, an imprint of Simon & Schuster, Inc.,  |c 2023. 
264 4 |c Ã2023 
300 |a 290 pages :  |b illustrations ;  |c 24 cm 
336 |a text  |b txt  |2 rdacontent 
337 |a unmediated  |b n  |2 rdamedia 
338 |a volume  |b nc  |2 rdacarrier 
520 |a "In the vein of The Engineer's Wife and Carolina Built, an inspiring novel based on the remarkable true story of Virginia's Black Wall Street and the indomitable Maggie Lena Walker, the daughter of a formerly enslaved woman who became the first Black woman to establish and preside over a bank in the United States"--  |c Provided by publisher. 
520 |a Maggie Lena Walker was ambitious and unafraid. Her childhood in 19th-century Virginia helping her mother with her laundry service opened her eyes to the overwhelming discrepancy between the Black residents and her mother's affluent white clients. She vowed to not only secure the same kind of home and finery for herself, but she would also help others in her community achieve the same. With her single-minded determination, Maggie buckled down and went from schoolteacher to secretary-treasurer of the Independent Order of St. Luke, founder of a newspaper, a bank, and a department store where Black customers were treated with respect. With the help of influential friends like W.E.B. DuBois and Mary McLeod, she revolutionized Richmond in ways that are still felt today. 
504 |a Includes bibliographical references (pages 287-288). 
600 1 0 |a Walker, Maggie Lena,  |d 1864-1934  |v Fiction. 
650 0 |a African American women  |v Fiction. 
650 0 |a Women bankers  |v Fiction. 
651 0 |a Richmond (Va.)  |v Fiction. 
655 7 |a Biographical fiction.  |2 lcgft 
655 7 |a Historical fiction.  |2 lcgft 
655 7 |a Novels.  |2 lcgft 
938 |a YBP Library Services  |b YANK  |n 18166055 
938 |a Brodart  |b BROD  |n 133453626 
994 |a C0  |b UAG 
999 f f |s 3252b0d9-2361-4cd5-bd97-7ca05cd0c9f3  |i 3d815d6f-c617-4b46-93ff-eec81f03b38c  |t 0 
952 f f |p Standard Circulation  |a City of Spokane  |b Spokane Public Library  |c Branches  |d Liberty Park  |t 0  |e WATSON  |i New Adult Fiction  |m 37413320679626