Correction

parole prison and the possibility of change
Ben Austen
Book - 2023

"From the critically acclaimed author of High-risers comes a groundbreaking and honest investigation into the crisis of the American criminal justice system-through the lens of parole. Perfect for fans of Michelle Alexander's The New Jim Crow and Bryan Stevenson's Just Mercy The United States, alone, locks up a quarter of the world's incarcerated people. And yet apart from clichés-paying a debt to society; you do the crime, you do the time-there is little sense collectively in America what constitutes retribution or atonement. We don't actually know why we punish. Ben Austen's powerful exploration offers a behind-the-scenes look at the process of parole. Told through the portraits of two men imprisoned for murder, and the parole board that holds their freedom in the balance, Austen's unflinching storytelling forces us to reckon with some of the most profound questions underlying the country's values around crime and punishment. What must someone who commits a terrible act do to get a second chance? What does incarceration seek to accomplish? An illuminating work of narrative nonfiction, Correction challenges us to consider for ourselves why and who we punish-and how we might find a way out of an era of mass imprisonment"--

Saved in:

Holdings -

Central

Barcode Status Material Type CallNumber Availability
37413321957310 Checked out New Adult Non-Fiction 364.6097 AUSTEN  Place A Hold
Bibliographic Details
Main Author: Austen, Ben (Author)
Format: Book
Language:English
Published: New York, NY : Flatiron Books, 2023.
Edition:First edition.
Subjects:

MARC

LEADER 00000cam a2200000 i 4500
001 928885
008 230314t20232023nyu e b 001 0 eng
005 20240123215031.3
010 |a  2023006824 
015 |a GBC3I9476  |2 bnb 
016 7 |a 021234258  |2 Uk 
019 |a 1340645496  |a 1406797182 
020 |a 9781250758804  |q hardcover 
020 |a 1250758807  |q hardcover 
020 |z 9781250758811  |q electronic book 
029 1 |a UKMGB  |b 021234258 
035 |a (OCoLC)1372639927  |z (OCoLC)1340645496  |z (OCoLC)1406797182 
040 |a DLC  |b eng  |e rda  |c DLC  |d BDX  |d OCLCF  |d YDX  |d TOH  |d UKMGB  |d RNL  |d IBI  |d YDX  |d QQ3  |d UAH  |d OCLCO  |d DAC  |d CQC 
042 |a pcc 
043 |a n-us--- 
049 |a UAGA 
082 0 0 |a 364.60973  |2 23/eng/20230314 
092 |a 364.6097 AUSTEN 
100 1 |a Austen, Ben,  |e author. 
245 1 0 |a Correction :  |b parole, prison, and the possibility of change /  |c Ben Austen. 
250 |a First edition. 
264 1 |a New York, NY :  |b Flatiron Books,  |c 2023. 
264 4 |c 2023 
300 |a 323 pages ;  |c 25 cm 
336 |a text  |b txt  |2 rdacontent 
337 |a unmediated  |b n  |2 rdamedia 
338 |a volume  |b nc  |2 rdacarrier 
504 |a Includes bibliographical references (pages 304-310) and index. 
505 0 |a Introduction : why do you deserve parole? -- The ideal of a true prison system -- Indeterminate sentence -- Taboo -- The stories of the crime -- Parole prep -- Stateville -- Rationales -- Victims -- Halfway back -- Retrying the case -- Community corrections -- Lockdown -- Twenty is plenty -- Institutional interview -- Second chances -- The case of Johnnie Veal -- Parole plans. 
520 |a "From the critically acclaimed author of High-risers comes a groundbreaking and honest investigation into the crisis of the American criminal justice system-through the lens of parole. Perfect for fans of Michelle Alexander's The New Jim Crow and Bryan Stevenson's Just Mercy The United States, alone, locks up a quarter of the world's incarcerated people. And yet apart from clichés-paying a debt to society; you do the crime, you do the time-there is little sense collectively in America what constitutes retribution or atonement. We don't actually know why we punish. Ben Austen's powerful exploration offers a behind-the-scenes look at the process of parole. Told through the portraits of two men imprisoned for murder, and the parole board that holds their freedom in the balance, Austen's unflinching storytelling forces us to reckon with some of the most profound questions underlying the country's values around crime and punishment. What must someone who commits a terrible act do to get a second chance? What does incarceration seek to accomplish? An illuminating work of narrative nonfiction, Correction challenges us to consider for ourselves why and who we punish-and how we might find a way out of an era of mass imprisonment"--  |c Provided by publisher. 
650 0 |a Parole  |z United States. 
650 0 |a Corrections  |z United States. 
650 0 |a Punishment in crime deterrence  |z United States. 
650 0 |a Prisons  |x Moral and ethical aspects  |z United States. 
655 4 |a Nonfiction. 
655 7 |a Informational works.  |2 lcgft 
938 |a Brodart  |b BROD  |n 133085295 
938 |a YBP Library Services  |b YANK  |n 18079677 
994 |a C0  |b UAG 
999 f f |s faa08687-f78c-4038-83fc-4182e7e54971  |i 55f6f962-888e-4c95-b581-d3a18ac16af8  |t 0 
952 f f |p Standard Circulation  |a City of Spokane  |b Spokane Public Library  |c Branches  |d Central  |t 0  |e 364.6097 AUSTEN  |i New Adult Non-Fiction  |m 37413321957310