The berry pickers

A novel
Amanda Peters
ebook - 2023

Longlisted for the Andrew Carnegie Medals of Excellence A Barnes & Noble Discover Prize Finalist A four-year-old Mi'kmaq girl goes missing from the blueberry fields of Maine, sparking a mystery that will haunt the survivors, unravel a family, and remain unsolved for nearly fifty years July 1962. A Mi'kmaq family from Nova Scotia arrives in Maine to pick blueberries for the summer. Weeks later, four-year-old Ruthie, the family's youngest child, vanishes. She is last seen by her six-year-old brother, Joe, sitting on a favorite rock at the edge of a berry field. Joe will remain distraught by his sister's disappearance for years to come.  In Maine, a young girl named Norma grows up as the only child of an affluent family. Her father is emotionally distant, her mother frustratingly overprotective. Norma is often troubled by recurring dreams and visions that seem more like memories than imagination. As she grows older, Norma slowly comes to realize there is something her parents aren't telling her. Unwilling to abandon her intuition, she will spend decades trying to uncover this family secret.  For readers of The Vanishing Half and Woman of Light , this showstopping debut by a vibrant new voice in fiction is a riveting novel about the search for truth, the shadow of trauma, and the persistence of love across time.

Saved in:

Holdings -

Bibliographic Details
Main Author: Peters, Amanda
Format: Electronic eBook
Language:English
Published: 2023.
Subjects:
Online Access:Click here for information and access to this electronic book. You will be leaving Spokane Public Library's web site.
Click to Expand/Hide Other Versions -
Search Result 1
The berry pickers
a novel
large type
by Peters, Amanda
Published 2023
 Place a Hold
Search Result 2
The berry pickers
a novel
Book
by Peters, Amanda
Published 2023
 Place a Hold

MARC

LEADER 00000nam a2200000Ka 4500
001 930119
006 m d
007 cr cn---------
008 230405s2023 nyu s 000 1 eng d
005 20231107142047.5
020 |a 9781646221967 (electronic bk) 
035 |a ODN0009596194 
037 |a A7BF31B5-5ED8-4E08-8E58-3E09B489F992  |b OverDrive, Inc.  |n http://www.overdrive.com 
040 |a TEFOD  |c TEFOD 
084 |a FIC043000  |a FIC059000  |a FIC045020  |2 bisacsh 
092 |a EBOOK 
100 1 |a Peters, Amanda. 
245 1 4 |a The berry pickers  |h [ebook] :  |b A novel.  |c Amanda Peters. 
260 |c 2023. 
300 |a 1 online resource 
336 |a text  |b txt  |2 rdacontent 
337 |a computer  |b c  |2 rdamedia 
338 |a online resource  |b cr  |2 rdacarrier 
520 |a Longlisted for the Andrew Carnegie Medals of Excellence A Barnes & Noble Discover Prize Finalist A four-year-old Mi'kmaq girl goes missing from the blueberry fields of Maine, sparking a mystery that will haunt the survivors, unravel a family, and remain unsolved for nearly fifty years July 1962. A Mi'kmaq family from Nova Scotia arrives in Maine to pick blueberries for the summer. Weeks later, four-year-old Ruthie, the family's youngest child, vanishes. She is last seen by her six-year-old brother, Joe, sitting on a favorite rock at the edge of a berry field. Joe will remain distraught by his sister's disappearance for years to come.  In Maine, a young girl named Norma grows up as the only child of an affluent family. Her father is emotionally distant, her mother frustratingly overprotective. Norma is often troubled by recurring dreams and visions that seem more like memories than imagination. As she grows older, Norma slowly comes to realize there is something her parents aren't telling her. Unwilling to abandon her intuition, she will spend decades trying to uncover this family secret.  For readers of The Vanishing Half and Woman of Light , this showstopping debut by a vibrant new voice in fiction is a riveting novel about the search for truth, the shadow of trauma, and the persistence of love across time. 
533 |a Electronic reproduction.  |b New York :  |c Catapult,  |d 2023.  |n Requires the Libby app or a modern web browser. 
650 1 7 |a Fiction.  |2 OverDrive 
650 7 |a Literature.  |2 OverDrive 
655 7 |a Electronic books.  |2 local 
776 1 |c Original  |z 9781646221950 
856 4 0 |u http://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=100150&titleID=9596194  |z Click here for information and access to this electronic book. You will be leaving Spokane Public Library's web site.  |t 0 
999 f f |s 4a51dba1-99a1-4c57-936f-3edc48588d6c  |i 5a60d0b3-6771-44db-8387-8a79354e54c7  |t 0