Herc

Phoenicia Rogerson
Book - 2023

A queer revisionist retelling of the story of Hercules, for fans of The Song of Achilles, A Thousand Ships and Ariadne. This should be the story of Hercules: his twelve labours, his endless adventures... everyone's favorite hero, right? Well, it's not. This is the story of everyone else: Alcmene: Herc's mother (She has knives everywhere), Hylas: Herc's first friend (They were more than friends), Megara: Herc's wife (She'll tell you about their marriage), Eurystheus: Oversaw Herc's labours (He never asked for the job). His friends, his enemies, his wives, his children, his lovers, his rivals, his gods, his victims. It's time to hear their stories. Told with humour and heart, Herc gives voice to the silenced characters, in this feminist, queer (and sometimes shocking) retelling of classic Hercules myth. --

Saved in:

Holdings -

South Hill

Barcode Status Material Type CallNumber Availability
37413321891345 Available Adult Fiction ROGERSO  Place a Hold
Bibliographic Details
Main Author: Rogerson, Phoenicia (Author)
Format: Book
Language:English
Published: Toronto : Hanover Square Press, [2023]
Subjects:
Click to Expand/Hide Other Versions -
Search Result 1
Herc
Book
by Rogerson, Phoenicia
Published 2023
 Place a Hold

MARC

LEADER 00000cam a2200000Ii 4500
001 910969
008 230414s2023 xxc e 000 f eng d
005 20231221224904.8
019 |a 1391698487 
020 |a 1335016775  |q (hardcover) 
020 |a 9781335016775  |q (hardcover) 
029 1 |a AU@  |b 000075199368 
035 |a (OCoLC)1375642070  |z (OCoLC)1391698487 
040 |a YDX  |b eng  |e rda  |c YDX  |d BDX  |d CCPLG  |d VAX  |d CCPLG  |d OQX  |d SDG  |d IK2  |d RNL  |d JTH  |d OTP  |d OCLCO  |d CNCAR  |d OCLCF  |d MWD  |d OCLCO 
043 |a e-gr--- 
049 |a UAGA 
082 0 4 |a [Fic]  |2 23 
092 |a ROGERSO 
100 1 |a Rogerson, Phoenicia,  |e author. 
245 1 0 |a Herc /  |c Phoenicia Rogerson. 
264 1 |a Toronto :  |b Hanover Square Press,  |c [2023] 
264 4 |c ©2023. 
300 |a 376 pages ;  |c 24 cm. 
336 |a text  |b txt  |2 rdacontent 
337 |a unmediated  |b n  |2 rdamedia 
338 |a volume  |b nc  |2 rdacarrier 
520 |a A queer revisionist retelling of the story of Hercules, for fans of The Song of Achilles, A Thousand Ships and Ariadne. This should be the story of Hercules: his twelve labours, his endless adventures... everyone's favorite hero, right? Well, it's not. This is the story of everyone else: Alcmene: Herc's mother (She has knives everywhere), Hylas: Herc's first friend (They were more than friends), Megara: Herc's wife (She'll tell you about their marriage), Eurystheus: Oversaw Herc's labours (He never asked for the job). His friends, his enemies, his wives, his children, his lovers, his rivals, his gods, his victims. It's time to hear their stories. Told with humour and heart, Herc gives voice to the silenced characters, in this feminist, queer (and sometimes shocking) retelling of classic Hercules myth. --  |c Back cover. 
600 0 0 |a Hercules  |c (Roman mythological character)  |v Fiction. 
600 0 0 |a Heracles  |c (Greek mythological character)  |v Fiction. 
600 0 0 |a Amphitryon  |c (Greek mythological character)  |v Fiction. 
600 0 0 |a Hylas  |c (Greek mythological character)  |v Fiction. 
650 0 |a Gods, Greek  |v Fiction. 
650 0 |a Women  |z Greece  |x Antiquities  |v Fiction. 
650 0 |a Heroes  |v Fiction. 
650 0 |a Animals, Mythical  |v Fiction. 
650 0 |a Magic  |v Fiction. 
655 7 |a Queer fiction.  |2 lcgft 
655 7 |a Mythological fiction.  |2 lcgft 
655 7 |a Fantasy fiction.  |2 lcgft 
655 7 |a Novels.  |2 lcgft 
938 |a Brodart  |b BROD  |n 134038703 
938 |a YBP Library Services  |b YANK  |n 19686377 
994 |a C0  |b UAG 
999 f f |s 7211d064-2cc5-4caf-8323-63cfd9fd8dfa  |i 861b3b15-f07f-4a57-b7b2-187ac8f5dc02  |t 0 
952 f f |p Standard Circulation  |a City of Spokane  |b Spokane Public Library  |c Branches  |d South Hill  |t 0  |e ROGERSO  |i New Adult Fiction  |m 37413321891345