Ariadne

Jennifer Saint
Book - 2021

"A mesmerizing debut novel for fans of Madeline Miller's Circe. Ariadne, Princess of Crete, grows up greeting the dawn from her beautiful dancing floor and listening to her nursemaid's stories of gods and heroes. But beneath her golden palace echo the ever-present hoofbeats of her brother, the Minotaur, a monster who demands blood sacrifice every year. When Theseus, Prince of Athens, arrives to vanquish the beast, Ariadne sees in his green eyes not a threat but an escape. Defying the gods, betraying her family and country, and risking everything for love, Ariadne helps Theseus kill the Minotaur. But will Ariadne's decision ensure her happy ending? And what of Phaedra, the beloved younger sister she leaves behind? Hypnotic, propulsive, and utterly transporting, Jennifer Saint's Ariadne forges a new epic, outside the traditional narratives of heroism and glory that leave no room for women"--

Saved in:

Holdings -

Shadle

Barcode Status Material Type CallNumber Availability
37413318948843 Available Adult Fiction SAINT  Place a Hold
Bibliographic Details
Main Author: Saint, Jennifer (Author)
Format: Book
Language:English
Published: New York : Flatiron Books, 2021.
Edition:First edition.
Subjects:

MARC

LEADER 00000cam a2200000 i 4500
001 722505
005 20210803080700.0
008 201201s2021 nyu 000 1 eng
010 |a  2020053224 
020 |a 9781250773586  |q (hardcover) 
020 |a 125077358X 
035 |a (OCoLC)1184238787 
040 |a DLC  |b eng  |e rda  |c DLC  |d OCLCF  |d OCLCO  |d TH8  |d MJ8  |d OCLCO  |d YU6  |d OCLCO  |d CHY 
042 |a pcc 
043 |a e-gr--- 
082 0 0 |a 823/.92  |2 23 
092 0 |a SAINT 
100 1 |a Saint, Jennifer,  |e author. 
245 1 0 |a Ariadne /  |c Jennifer Saint. 
250 |a First edition. 
264 1 |a New York :  |b Flatiron Books,  |c 2021. 
300 |a 308 pages ;  |c 25cm 
336 |a text  |b txt  |2 rdacontent 
337 |a unmediated  |b n  |2 rdamedia 
338 |a volume  |b nc  |2 rdacarrier 
520 |a "A mesmerizing debut novel for fans of Madeline Miller's Circe. Ariadne, Princess of Crete, grows up greeting the dawn from her beautiful dancing floor and listening to her nursemaid's stories of gods and heroes. But beneath her golden palace echo the ever-present hoofbeats of her brother, the Minotaur, a monster who demands blood sacrifice every year. When Theseus, Prince of Athens, arrives to vanquish the beast, Ariadne sees in his green eyes not a threat but an escape. Defying the gods, betraying her family and country, and risking everything for love, Ariadne helps Theseus kill the Minotaur. But will Ariadne's decision ensure her happy ending? And what of Phaedra, the beloved younger sister she leaves behind? Hypnotic, propulsive, and utterly transporting, Jennifer Saint's Ariadne forges a new epic, outside the traditional narratives of heroism and glory that leave no room for women"--  |c Provided by publisher. 
600 0 0 |a Ariadne  |c (Greek mythological character)  |v Fiction. 
600 0 0 |a Minotaur  |c (Greek mythological character)  |v Fiction. 
600 0 0 |a Theseus,  |c King of Athens  |v Fiction. 
600 0 0 |a Phaedra  |c (Greek mythological character)  |v Fiction. 
651 0 |a Crete (Greece)  |x History  |v Fiction. 
655 7 |a Historical fiction.  |2 lcgft 
655 7 |a Fantasy fiction.  |2 lcgft 
655 7 |a Historical fiction.  |2 gsafd 
655 7 |a Fantasy fiction.  |2 gsafd 
949 |b 37413318948843  |c newafic  |d prta  |e SAINT  |g so  |h 27.00  |q 1654482 
998 |a 2021.05.10 
999 f f |i 93e69aa1-b753-5640-aadf-4029a81bf426  |s a97b8041-ae02-5b65-8b59-1342bf9feb79  |t 0 
952 f f |p Standard Circulation  |a City of Spokane  |b Spokane Public Library  |c Branches  |d Shadle  |t 1  |e F SAI  |h Other scheme  |i High Demand Fiction  |m 37413318280767 
952 f f |p Standard Circulation  |a City of Spokane  |b Spokane Public Library  |c Branches  |d Shadle  |t 0  |e SAINT  |h Other scheme  |i Adult Fiction  |m 37413318948843