The berry pickers

Amanda Peters
eaudiobook - 2023

A four-year-old Mi'kmaq girl goes missing from the blueberry fields of Maine, sparking a tragic mystery that haunts the survivors, unravels a family, and remains unsolved for nearly fifty years July 1962. Following in the tradition of Indigenous workers from Nova Scotia, a Mi'kmaq family arrives in Maine to pick blueberries for the summer. Weeks later, four-year-old Ruthie, the family's youngest child, vanishes. She is last seen by her six-year-old brother, Joe, sitting on a favorite rock at the edge of a berry field. Joe will remain distraught by his sister's disappearance for years to come. In Maine, a young girl named Norma grows up as the only child of an affluent family. Her father is emotionally distant, her mother frustratingly overprotective. Norma is often troubled by recurring dreams and visions that seem more like memories than imagination. As she grows older, Norma slowly comes to realize there is something her parents aren't telling her. Unwilling to abandon her intuition, she will spend decades trying to uncover this family secret. For readers of The Vanishing Half and Woman of Light, this showstopping debut by a vibrant new voice in fiction is a riveting novel about the search for truth, the shadow of trauma, and the persistence of love across time.

Saved in:

Holdings -

Bibliographic Details
Main Author: Peters, Amanda
Other Authors: Warbus, Aaliya
Format: Electronic Audiobook
Language:English
Published: Prince Frederick : Recorded Books, Inc., 2023.
Edition:Unabridged.
Subjects:
Online Access:Click here for information and access to this electronic book. You will be leaving Spokane Public Library's web site.

MARC

LEADER 00000nim a2200000Ka 4500
001 930111
006 m h
007 cr una---
007 sz usn nn ed
008 231016s2023 nyu s 000 1 eng d
005 20231107141951.4
020 |a 9798890598301 (sound recording) 
035 |a ODN0010205640 
037 |a 317A4B8E-9A65-4901-A308-A2A2A528191A  |b OverDrive, Inc.  |n http://www.overdrive.com 
040 |a TEFOD  |c TEFOD 
084 |a FIC043000  |a FIC059000  |a FIC045020  |2 bisacsh 
092 |a EAUDIO 
100 1 |a Peters, Amanda. 
245 1 4 |a The berry pickers  |h [eaudiobook].  |c Amanda Peters. 
250 |a Unabridged. 
260 |a Prince Frederick :  |b Recorded Books, Inc.,  |c 2023. 
300 |a 1 online resource (9 audio files) :  |b digital 
306 |a 08:44:19 
336 |a spoken word  |b spw  |2 rdacontent 
337 |a audio  |b s  |2 rdamedia 
337 |a computer  |b c  |2 rdamedia 
338 |a online resource  |b cr  |2 rdacarrier 
347 |a audio file  |2 rda 
500 |a Unabridged. 
511 0 |a Narrator: Aaliya Warbus. 
520 |a A four-year-old Mi'kmaq girl goes missing from the blueberry fields of Maine, sparking a tragic mystery that haunts the survivors, unravels a family, and remains unsolved for nearly fifty years July 1962. Following in the tradition of Indigenous workers from Nova Scotia, a Mi'kmaq family arrives in Maine to pick blueberries for the summer. Weeks later, four-year-old Ruthie, the family's youngest child, vanishes. She is last seen by her six-year-old brother, Joe, sitting on a favorite rock at the edge of a berry field. Joe will remain distraught by his sister's disappearance for years to come. In Maine, a young girl named Norma grows up as the only child of an affluent family. Her father is emotionally distant, her mother frustratingly overprotective. Norma is often troubled by recurring dreams and visions that seem more like memories than imagination. As she grows older, Norma slowly comes to realize there is something her parents aren't telling her. Unwilling to abandon her intuition, she will spend decades trying to uncover this family secret. For readers of The Vanishing Half and Woman of Light, this showstopping debut by a vibrant new voice in fiction is a riveting novel about the search for truth, the shadow of trauma, and the persistence of love across time. 
538 |a Requires the Libby app or a modern web browser. 
650 1 7 |a Fiction.  |2 OverDrive 
650 7 |a Literature.  |2 OverDrive 
655 7 |a Electronic books.  |2 local 
700 1 |a Warbus, Aaliya. 
856 4 0 |u http://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=100150&titleID=10205640  |z Click here for information and access to this electronic book. You will be leaving Spokane Public Library's web site.  |t 0 
999 f f |s 11b838e7-94ca-4dd8-b5b3-4b72cca0dbc5  |i a0a5fbae-b44d-477e-9064-89deb4eaf2d4  |t 0