The patient

Jasper DeWitt
Book - 2020

"In a series of online posts, Parker H., a young psychiatrist, chronicles the harrowing account of his time working at a dreary mental hospital in New England. Through this internet message board, Parker hopes to communicate with the world his effort to cure one bewildering patient. We learn, as Parker did on his first day at the hospital, of the facility's most difficult, profoundly dangerous case-a 40-year-old man who was originally admitted to the hospital at age six. This patient has no known diagnosis. His symptoms seem to evolve over time. Every person who has attempted to treat him has been driven to madness or suicide. Desperate and fearful, the hospital's directors keep him strictly confined and allow minimal contact with staff for their own safety, convinced that releasing him would unleash catastrophe on the outside world. Parker, brilliant and overconfident, takes it upon himself to discover what ails this mystery patient and finally cure him. But from his first encounter with the mystery patient, things spiral out of control and, facing a possibility beyond his wildest imaginings, Parker is forced to question everything he thought he knew. Fans of Sarah Pinborough's Behind Her Eyes and Paul Tremblay's The Cabin at the End of the World will be riveted by Jasper DeWitt's astonishing debut"--

Saved in:

Holdings -

South Hill

Barcode Status Material Type CallNumber Availability
37413318719459 Available Adult Fiction DEWITT  Place a Hold
Bibliographic Details
Main Author: DeWitt, Jasper (Author)
Format: Book
Language:English
Published: Boston : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2020.
Subjects:

MARC

LEADER 00000cam a2200000 i 4500
001 703435
005 20200907083200.0
008 191106s2020 mau 000 1 eng
010 |a  2019049890 
020 |a 9780358181767  |q (hardcover) 
020 |a 0358181763  |q (hardcover) 
035 |a (OCoLC)1129402771  |z (OCoLC)1165395781 
040 |a DLC  |b eng  |e rda  |c DLC  |d CCPLG  |d IK2  |d HBP  |d OCLCF 
042 |a pcc 
082 0 0 |a 813/.6  |2 23 
092 0 |a DEWITT 
100 1 |a DeWitt, Jasper,  |e author. 
245 1 4 |a The patient /  |c Jasper DeWitt. 
264 1 |a Boston :  |b Houghton Mifflin Harcourt,  |c 2020. 
300 |a 209 pages ;  |c 20 cm 
336 |a text  |b txt  |2 rdacontent 
337 |a unmediated  |b n  |2 rdamedia 
338 |a volume  |b nc  |2 rdacarrier 
520 |a "In a series of online posts, Parker H., a young psychiatrist, chronicles the harrowing account of his time working at a dreary mental hospital in New England. Through this internet message board, Parker hopes to communicate with the world his effort to cure one bewildering patient. We learn, as Parker did on his first day at the hospital, of the facility's most difficult, profoundly dangerous case-a 40-year-old man who was originally admitted to the hospital at age six. This patient has no known diagnosis. His symptoms seem to evolve over time. Every person who has attempted to treat him has been driven to madness or suicide. Desperate and fearful, the hospital's directors keep him strictly confined and allow minimal contact with staff for their own safety, convinced that releasing him would unleash catastrophe on the outside world. Parker, brilliant and overconfident, takes it upon himself to discover what ails this mystery patient and finally cure him. But from his first encounter with the mystery patient, things spiral out of control and, facing a possibility beyond his wildest imaginings, Parker is forced to question everything he thought he knew. Fans of Sarah Pinborough's Behind Her Eyes and Paul Tremblay's The Cabin at the End of the World will be riveted by Jasper DeWitt's astonishing debut"--  |c Provided by publisher. 
650 0 |a Psychiatrists  |v Fiction. 
650 0 |a Dangerously mentally ill  |v Fiction. 
650 0 |a Psychiatric hospital patients  |v Fiction. 
650 0 |a Psychiatric hospitals  |z New England  |v Fiction. 
655 7 |a Suspense fiction.  |2 gsafd 
655 7 |a Psychological fiction.  |2 lcgft 
655 7 |a Thrillers (Fiction)  |2 lcgft 
776 0 8 |i Online version:  |a DeWitt, Jasper.  |t The patient  |d Boston : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2020  |z 9780358181774  |w (DLC) 2019049891 
949 |b 37413318719459  |c newafic  |d prta  |e DEWITT  |g hy  |h 23.00  |q 1619644 
998 |a 2020.07.06 
999 f f |i c6bdb262-bfab-5b51-ba08-fe0a906a2ef4  |s 057e7023-24c2-5adb-9f43-063c3f8f6adc  |t 0 
952 f f |p Standard Circulation  |a City of Spokane  |b Spokane Public Library  |c Branches  |d South Hill  |t 0  |e DEWITT  |h Other scheme  |i Adult Fiction  |m 37413318719459