The divorcées

Rowan Beaird
Book - 2024

"For fans of Beautiful Ruins and Lessons in Chemistry, a novel set at a 1950s Reno "divorce ranch," about the complex friendship between two women who dare to imagine a different future "A delicious literary page-turner from a fierce new voice." -Rebecca Makkai Lois Saunders thought that marrying the right man would finally cure her loneliness. But as picture-perfect as her husband is, she is suffocating in their loveless marriage. In 1951, though, unhappiness is hardly grounds for divorce-except in Reno, Nevada. At the Golden Yarrow, the most respectable of Reno's famous "divorce ranches," Lois finds herself living with half a dozen other would-be divorcees, all in Reno for the six weeks' residency that is the state's only divorce requirement. They spend their days riding horses and their nights flirting with cowboys, and it's as wild and fun as Lake Forest, Illinois, is prim and stifling. But it isn't until Greer Lang arrives that Lois's world truly cracks open. Gorgeous, beguiling, and completely indifferent to societal convention, Greer is unlike anyone Lois has ever met-and she sees something in Lois that no one else ever has. Under her influence, Lois begins to push against the limits that have always restrained her. But how much can she really trust her mysterious new friend? And how far will she go to forge her independence, on her own terms? Set in the glamorous, dizzying world of 1950s Reno, where housewives and movie stars rubbed shoulders at gin-soaked casinos, The Divorcees is a riveting page-turner and a dazzling exploration of female friendship, desire, and freedom"--

Saved in:

Holdings -

Indian Trail

Barcode Status Material Type CallNumber Availability
37413322057441 Checked out New Adult Fiction BEAIRD  Place A Hold

Shadle

Barcode Status Material Type CallNumber Availability
37413322057433 Available New Adult Fiction BEAIRD  Place a Hold

South Hill

Barcode Status Material Type CallNumber Availability
37413322057425 Checked out New Adult Fiction BEAIRD  Place A Hold
Bibliographic Details
Main Author: Beaird, Rowan (Author)
Format: Book
Language:English
Published: New York : Flatiron Books, 2024.
Edition:First edition.
Subjects:

MARC

LEADER 00000cam a22000008i 4500
001 932153
008 231016t20242024nyu 000 1 eng
005 20240313182924.4
010 |a  2023029115 
020 |a 9781250896582  |q (hardcover) 
020 |a 1250896584  |q (hardcover) 
035 |a (OCoLC)1375537444 
040 |a DLC  |b eng  |e rda  |c DLC  |d OCLCO  |d VRP  |d OCO  |d MWD  |d OCLCO  |d UAG 
042 |a pcc 
043 |a n-us-nv 
049 |a UAGA 
082 0 0 |a 813/.6  |2 23/eng/20231016 
092 |a BEAIRD 
100 1 |a Beaird, Rowan,  |e author. 
245 1 4 |a The divorcées /  |c Rowan Beaird. 
250 |a First edition. 
264 1 |a New York :  |b Flatiron Books,  |c 2024. 
264 4 |c ©2024 
300 |a 256 pages ;  |c 25 cm 
336 |a text  |b txt  |2 rdacontent 
337 |a unmediated  |b n  |2 rdamedia 
338 |a volume  |b nc  |2 rdacarrier 
520 |a "For fans of Beautiful Ruins and Lessons in Chemistry, a novel set at a 1950s Reno "divorce ranch," about the complex friendship between two women who dare to imagine a different future "A delicious literary page-turner from a fierce new voice." -Rebecca Makkai Lois Saunders thought that marrying the right man would finally cure her loneliness. But as picture-perfect as her husband is, she is suffocating in their loveless marriage. In 1951, though, unhappiness is hardly grounds for divorce-except in Reno, Nevada. At the Golden Yarrow, the most respectable of Reno's famous "divorce ranches," Lois finds herself living with half a dozen other would-be divorcees, all in Reno for the six weeks' residency that is the state's only divorce requirement. They spend their days riding horses and their nights flirting with cowboys, and it's as wild and fun as Lake Forest, Illinois, is prim and stifling. But it isn't until Greer Lang arrives that Lois's world truly cracks open. Gorgeous, beguiling, and completely indifferent to societal convention, Greer is unlike anyone Lois has ever met-and she sees something in Lois that no one else ever has. Under her influence, Lois begins to push against the limits that have always restrained her. But how much can she really trust her mysterious new friend? And how far will she go to forge her independence, on her own terms? Set in the glamorous, dizzying world of 1950s Reno, where housewives and movie stars rubbed shoulders at gin-soaked casinos, The Divorcees is a riveting page-turner and a dazzling exploration of female friendship, desire, and freedom"--  |c Provided by publisher. 
650 0 |a Divorce  |v Fiction. 
650 0 |a Marriage  |v Fiction. 
650 0 |a Ranches  |v Fiction. 
651 0 |a Reno (Nev.)  |v Fiction. 
655 7 |a Novels.  |2 lcgft 
938 |a Brodart  |b BROD  |n 134499875 
938 |a YBP Library Services  |b YANK  |n 19669506 
994 |a C0  |b UAG 
999 f f |s f8cf40f9-e25c-4cd2-bf6d-349fed462ae4  |i d69a2f78-2b9e-4d1c-8d90-3e9680267597  |t 0 
952 f f |p Standard Circulation  |a City of Spokane  |b Spokane Public Library  |c Branches  |d South Hill  |t 0  |e BEAIRD  |i New Adult Fiction  |m 37413322057425 
952 f f |p Standard Circulation  |a City of Spokane  |b Spokane Public Library  |c Branches  |d Indian Trail  |t 0  |e BEAIRD  |i New Adult Fiction  |m 37413322057441 
952 f f |p Standard Circulation  |a City of Spokane  |b Spokane Public Library  |c Branches  |d Shadle  |t 0  |e BEAIRD  |i New Adult Fiction  |m 37413322057433