The first sister

a novel
Linden A Lewis
Book - 2020

"Combining the social commentary of The Handmaid's Tale with the white-knuckled thrills of Red Rising, this epic space opera follows a comfort woman as she claims her agency, a soldier questioning his allegiances, and a non-binary hero out to save the solar system. First Sister has no name and no voice. As a priestess of the Sisterhood, she travels the stars alongside the soldiers of Earth and Mars- the same ones who own the rights to her body and soul. When her former captain abandons her, First Sister's hopes for freedom are dashed when she is forced to stay on her ship with no friends, no power, and a new captain-Saito Ren-whom she knows nothing about. She is commanded to spy on Captain Ren by the Sisterhood, but soon discovers that working for the war effort is so much harder to do when you're falling in love. Lito val Lucius climbed his way out of the slums to become an elite soldier of Venus, but was defeated in combat by none other than Saito Ren, resulting in the disappearance of his partner, Hiro. When Lito learns that Hiro is both alive and now a traitor to the cause, he now has a shot at redemption: track down and kill his former partner. But when he discovers recordings that Hiro secretly made, Lito's own allegiances are put to the test. Ultimately, he must decide between following orders and following his heart. A stunning and sweeping debut novel that explores the power of technology, colonization, race, and gender, The First Sister is perfect for fans of James S.A. Corey, Chuck Wendig, and Margaret Atwood"--

Saved in:

Holdings -

Hillyard

Barcode Status Material Type CallNumber Availability
37413318719491 Available Adult Fiction LEWIS  Place a Hold

South Hill

Barcode Status Material Type CallNumber Availability
37413318719509 Available Adult Fiction LEWIS  Place a Hold
Bibliographic Details
Main Author: Lewis, Linden A., 1988- (Author)
Format: Book
Language:English
Published: New York : Skybound Books / Gallery Books, 2020.
Edition:First Skybound Books / Gallery Books hardcover edition.
Series:Lewis, Linden A., 1988- First sister trilogy ; bk. 1.
Subjects:
Click to Expand/Hide Other Versions -
Search Result 1
The first sister
a novel
Book
by Lewis, Linden A., 1988-
Published 2020
 Place a Hold

MARC

LEADER 00000pam a2200000 i 4500
001 699846
008 190703s2020 nyu 000 1 eng
005 20220114212124.1
010 |a  2019026611 
020 |a 9781982126995  |q (hardcover) 
020 |a 198212699X 
035 |a (DLC) 2019026611 
035 |a 699846 
040 |a DLC  |b eng  |e rda  |c DLC  |d IMmBT 
042 |a pcc 
082 0 0 |a 813/.6  |2 23 
092 0 |a LEWIS 
100 1 |a Lewis, Linden A.,  |d 1988-  |e author. 
245 1 4 |a The first sister :  |b a novel /  |c Linden A. Lewis. 
250 |a First Skybound Books / Gallery Books hardcover edition. 
264 1 |a New York :  |b Skybound Books / Gallery Books,  |c 2020. 
300 |a 344 pages ;  |c 24 cm 
336 |a text  |b txt  |2 rdacontent 
337 |a unmediated  |b n  |2 rdamedia 
338 |a volume  |b nc  |2 rdacarrier 
520 |a "Combining the social commentary of The Handmaid's Tale with the white-knuckled thrills of Red Rising, this epic space opera follows a comfort woman as she claims her agency, a soldier questioning his allegiances, and a non-binary hero out to save the solar system. First Sister has no name and no voice. As a priestess of the Sisterhood, she travels the stars alongside the soldiers of Earth and Mars- the same ones who own the rights to her body and soul. When her former captain abandons her, First Sister's hopes for freedom are dashed when she is forced to stay on her ship with no friends, no power, and a new captain-Saito Ren-whom she knows nothing about. She is commanded to spy on Captain Ren by the Sisterhood, but soon discovers that working for the war effort is so much harder to do when you're falling in love. Lito val Lucius climbed his way out of the slums to become an elite soldier of Venus, but was defeated in combat by none other than Saito Ren, resulting in the disappearance of his partner, Hiro. When Lito learns that Hiro is both alive and now a traitor to the cause, he now has a shot at redemption: track down and kill his former partner. But when he discovers recordings that Hiro secretly made, Lito's own allegiances are put to the test. Ultimately, he must decide between following orders and following his heart. A stunning and sweeping debut novel that explores the power of technology, colonization, race, and gender, The First Sister is perfect for fans of James S.A. Corey, Chuck Wendig, and Margaret Atwood"--  |c Provided by publisher. 
650 0 |a Interstellar travel  |v Fiction. 
650 0 |a Conspiracies  |v Fiction. 
655 7 |a Science fiction.  |2 gsafd 
800 1 |a Lewis, Linden A.,  |d 1988-  |t First sister trilogy ;  |v bk. 1. 
949 |b 37413318719491  |c newafic  |d prta  |e LEWIS  |g hy  |h 26.00  |q 1614078 
949 |b 37413318719509  |c newafic  |d prta  |e LEWIS  |g so  |h 26.00  |q 1614079 
998 |a 2020.03.10 
999 f f |s b26831f9-fecb-49ec-82ff-ebc6acf79cc2  |i e0a5f475-93a1-5b46-aa48-c1b97e2d2466  |t 0 
952 f f |p Standard Circulation  |a City of Spokane  |b Spokane Public Library  |c Branches  |d South Hill  |t 0  |e LEWIS  |h Other scheme  |i Adult Fiction  |m 37413318719509 
952 f f |p Standard Circulation  |a City of Spokane  |b Spokane Public Library  |c Branches  |d Hillyard  |t 0  |e LEWIS  |h Other scheme  |i Adult Fiction  |m 37413318719491