The berry pickers

a novel
Amanda Peters
large type - 2023

"A four-year-old Mi'kmaq girl goes missing from the blueberry fields of Maine, sparking a tragic mystery that haunts the survivors, unravels a family, and will remain unsolved for nearly fifty years July 1962. A Mi'kmaq family from Nova Scotia arrives in Maine to pick blueberries for the summer. Weeks later, four-year-old Ruthie, the family's youngest child, vanishes. She is last seen by her six-year-old brother, Joe, sitting on a favorite rock at the edge of a berry field. Joe will remain distraught by his sister's disappearance for years to come. In Maine, a young girl named Norma grows up as the only child of an affluent family. Her father is emotionally distant, her mother frustratingly overprotective. Norma is often troubled by recurring dreams and visions that seem more like memories than imagination. As she grows older, Norma slowly comes to realize there is something her parents aren't telling her. Unwilling to abandon her intuition, she will spend decades trying to uncover this family secret. For readers of The Vanishing Half and Woman of Light, this showstopping debut by a vibrant new voice in fiction is a riveting novel about the search for truth, the shadow of trauma, and the persistence of love across"--

Saved in:

Holdings -

South Hill

Barcode Status Material Type CallNumber Availability
37413322003734 Checked out New Large Print - Fiction and Nonfiction LGE-TYPE PETERS  Place A Hold
Bibliographic Details
Main Author: Peters, Amanda (Author)
Format: Book
Language:English
Published: [Farmington Hills] : Thorndike Press, a part of Gale, a Cengage Company 2023.
Edition:Large print edition.
Series:Thorndike Press large print dynamic drama.
Subjects:
Click to Expand/Hide Other Versions -
Search Result 1
Search Result 2
The berry pickers
a novel
Book
by Peters, Amanda
Published 2023
 Place a Hold

MARC

LEADER 00000cam a2200000 i 4500
001 938155
008 230920s2023 miub ed 000 1 eng
005 20240205172130.4
010 |a  2023036763 
019 |a 1412068168  |a 1416718908 
020 |a 9798885795692  |q (hardcover) 
035 |a (OCoLC)1398578893  |z (OCoLC)1412068168  |z (OCoLC)1416718908 
040 |a DLC  |b eng  |e rda  |c DLC  |d OCLCF  |d OCLCQ  |d LE#  |d OCLCO  |d JCX  |d NMS  |d LMJ  |d UAG 
042 |a pcc 
049 |a UAGA 
082 0 4 |a 813/.6  |q OCoLC  |2 23/eng/20231018 
092 |a LGE-TYPE PETERS 
100 1 |a Peters, Amanda,  |e author. 
245 1 4 |a The berry pickers :  |b a novel  |h [large type] /  |c Amanda Peters. 
250 |a Large print edition. 
264 1 |a [Farmington Hills] :  |b Thorndike Press, a part of Gale, a Cengage Company  |c 2023. 
300 |a 417 pages :  |b map ;  |c 23 cm 
336 |a text  |b txt  |2 rdacontent 
337 |a unmediated  |b n  |2 rdamedia 
338 |a volume  |b nc  |2 rdacarrier 
490 1 |a Thorndike Press Large Print Dynamic Drama 
520 |a "A four-year-old Mi'kmaq girl goes missing from the blueberry fields of Maine, sparking a tragic mystery that haunts the survivors, unravels a family, and will remain unsolved for nearly fifty years July 1962. A Mi'kmaq family from Nova Scotia arrives in Maine to pick blueberries for the summer. Weeks later, four-year-old Ruthie, the family's youngest child, vanishes. She is last seen by her six-year-old brother, Joe, sitting on a favorite rock at the edge of a berry field. Joe will remain distraught by his sister's disappearance for years to come. In Maine, a young girl named Norma grows up as the only child of an affluent family. Her father is emotionally distant, her mother frustratingly overprotective. Norma is often troubled by recurring dreams and visions that seem more like memories than imagination. As she grows older, Norma slowly comes to realize there is something her parents aren't telling her. Unwilling to abandon her intuition, she will spend decades trying to uncover this family secret. For readers of The Vanishing Half and Woman of Light, this showstopping debut by a vibrant new voice in fiction is a riveting novel about the search for truth, the shadow of trauma, and the persistence of love across"--  |c Provided by publisher. 
650 0 |a Missing children  |v Fiction. 
650 0 |a Micmac Indians  |v Fiction. 
650 0 |a Berries  |x Harvesting  |v Fiction. 
650 0 |a Family secrets  |z Nova Scotia  |v Fiction. 
650 0 |a Foreign workers  |v Fiction. 
650 0 |a Families  |v Fiction. 
650 0 |a Siblings  |v Fiction. 
650 0 |a Grief  |v Fiction. 
650 0 |a Canadian fiction  |y 21st century. 
651 0 |a Maine  |v Fiction. 
650 0 |a Large type books. 
655 7 |a Large print books.  |2 lcgft 
655 7 |a Detective and mystery fiction.  |2 lcgft 
655 7 |a Historical fiction.  |2 lcgft 
655 7 |a Domestic fiction.  |2 lcgft 
655 7 |a Bildungsromans.  |2 lcgft 
655 7 |a Novels.  |2 lcgft 
830 0 |a Thorndike Press large print dynamic drama. 
938 |a Brodart  |b BROD  |n 135378923 
994 |a C0  |b UAG 
999 f f |s e769e5b6-6ce5-462d-9598-ae316186723e  |i 207529f5-2ca2-49b9-8fa4-34106d08afcf  |t 0 
952 f f |p Standard Circulation  |a City of Spokane  |b Spokane Public Library  |c Branches  |d South Hill  |t 0  |e LGE-TYPE PETERS  |i New Large Print - Fiction and Nonfiction  |m 37413322003734