The berry pickers

a novel
Amanda Peters
Book - 2023

"A four-year-old Mi'kmaq girl goes missing from the blueberry fields of Maine, sparking a tragic mystery that haunts the survivors, unravels a family, and will remain unsolved for nearly fifty years. July 1962. A Mi'kmaq family from Nova Scotia arrives in Maine to pick blueberries for the summer. Weeks later, four-year-old Ruthie, the family's youngest child, vanishes. She is last seen by her six-year-old brother, Joe, sitting on a favorite rock at the edge of a berry field. Joe will remain distraught by his sister's disappearance for years to come. In Maine, a young girl named Norma grows up as the only child of an affluent family. Her father is emotionally distant, her mother frustratingly overprotective. Norma is often troubled by recurring dreams and visions that seem more like memories than imagination. As she grows older, Norma slowly comes to realize there is something her parents aren't telling her. Unwilling to abandon her intuition, she will spend decades trying to uncover this family secret. For readers of The Vanishing Half and Woman of Light, this showstopping debut by a vibrant new voice in fiction is a riveting novel about the search for truth, the shadow of trauma, and the persistence of love across time."--

Saved in:

Holdings -

Indian Trail

Barcode Status Material Type CallNumber Availability
37413321965131 Checked out New Adult Fiction PETERS  Place A Hold

Shadle

Barcode Status Material Type CallNumber Availability
37413321935639 In transit New Adult Fiction PETERS  Place A Hold

South Hill

Barcode Status Material Type CallNumber Availability
37413321935613 Checked out New Adult Fiction PETERS  Place A Hold
Bibliographic Details
Main Author: Peters, Amanda (Author)
Format: Book
Language:English
Published: New York : Catapult, 2023.
Subjects:
Click to Expand/Hide Other Versions -
Search Result 1

MARC

LEADER 00000cam a2200000Ii 4500
001 912929
008 231019s2023 nyua 000 f eng d
005 20231024194029.1
019 |a 1369516579  |a 1369519129  |a 1369529164  |a 1380652511 
020 |a 9781646221950  |q hc. 
020 |a 1646221958  |q hc. 
035 |a (OCoLC)1404819856  |z (OCoLC)1369516579  |z (OCoLC)1369519129  |z (OCoLC)1369529164  |z (OCoLC)1380652511 
040 |a IMmBT  |b eng  |c CG4  |e rda  |d CG4  |d ZGW  |d IOU  |d MJ8  |d OCLCF  |d YDX  |d BDX  |d UAG 
043 |a n-us-me 
049 |a UAGA 
082 0 4 |a 813/.6  |2 23/eng/20231018 
092 |a PETERS 
100 1 |a Peters, Amanda,  |e author. 
245 1 4 |a The berry pickers :  |b a novel /  |c Amanda Peters. 
264 1 |a New York :  |b Catapult,  |c 2023. 
300 |a 307 pages :  |b illustration ;  |c 24 cm 
336 |a text  |2 rdacontent 
337 |a unmediated  |2 rdamedia 
338 |a volume  |2 rdacarrier 
520 |a "A four-year-old Mi'kmaq girl goes missing from the blueberry fields of Maine, sparking a tragic mystery that haunts the survivors, unravels a family, and will remain unsolved for nearly fifty years. July 1962. A Mi'kmaq family from Nova Scotia arrives in Maine to pick blueberries for the summer. Weeks later, four-year-old Ruthie, the family's youngest child, vanishes. She is last seen by her six-year-old brother, Joe, sitting on a favorite rock at the edge of a berry field. Joe will remain distraught by his sister's disappearance for years to come. In Maine, a young girl named Norma grows up as the only child of an affluent family. Her father is emotionally distant, her mother frustratingly overprotective. Norma is often troubled by recurring dreams and visions that seem more like memories than imagination. As she grows older, Norma slowly comes to realize there is something her parents aren't telling her. Unwilling to abandon her intuition, she will spend decades trying to uncover this family secret. For readers of The Vanishing Half and Woman of Light, this showstopping debut by a vibrant new voice in fiction is a riveting novel about the search for truth, the shadow of trauma, and the persistence of love across time."--  |c Provided by publisher. 
650 0 |a Missing children  |v Fiction. 
650 0 |a Micmac Indians  |v Fiction. 
650 0 |a Family secrets  |v Fiction. 
651 0 |a Maine  |v Fiction. 
655 7 |a Detective and mystery fiction.  |2 lcgft 
655 7 |a Novels.  |2 lcgft 
938 |a Brodart  |b BROD  |n 134053427 
938 |a YBP Library Services  |b YANK  |n 19529617 
994 |a C0  |b UAG 
999 f f |s fa771a40-37c1-4101-ace2-e0f18d4cb2ca  |i d62fff8c-273e-46e5-b4a3-8375ad1fcf24  |t 0 
952 f f |p Standard Circulation  |a City of Spokane  |b Spokane Public Library  |c Branches  |d Indian Trail  |t 0  |e PETERS  |i New Adult Fiction  |m 37413321965131 
952 f f |p Standard Circulation  |a City of Spokane  |b Spokane Public Library  |c Branches  |d South Hill  |t 0  |e PETERS  |i New Adult Fiction  |m 37413321935613 
952 f f |p Standard Circulation  |a City of Spokane  |b Spokane Public Library  |c Branches  |d Shadle  |t 0  |e PETERS  |i New Adult Fiction  |m 37413321935639