Once upon a time

the captivating life of Carolyn Bessette-Kennedy
Elizabeth Beller
Book - 2024

"The life and legacy of Carolyn Bessette-Kennedy, wife of John F. Kennedy Jr., are reexamined in this captivating and effervescent biography that is perfect for fans of My Travels with Mrs. Kennedy, What Remains, and Fairy Tale Interrupted. A quarter of a century after the plane crash that claimed the lives of John F. Kennedy Jr., his wife Carolyn, and sister-in-law Lauren, the magnitude of this tragedy remains fresh. Yet, Carolyn is still an enigmatic figure, a woman whose short life in the spotlight was besieged with misogyny and cruelty. Amidst today's cultural reckoning about the way our media treats women, Elizabeth Beller explores the real person behind the tabloid headlines and media frenzy. When she began dating America's prince, Carolyn was increasingly thrust into an overwhelming spotlight filled with relentless paparazzi who reacted to her reserve with a campaign of harassment and vilification. To this day, she is still depicted as a privileged princess-icy, vapid, and drug-addicted. She has even been accused of being responsible for their untimely death, allegedly delaying take-off until she finished her pedicure. But now, she is revealed as never before. A fiercely independent woman devoted to her adopted city and career, Carolyn relied on her impeccable eye and drive to fly up the ranks at Calvin Klein in the glossy, high-stakes fashion world of the 1990s. When Carolyn met her future husband, John was immediately drawn to her strong-willed personality, effortless charm, and high intelligence. Their relationship would change her life and catapult her to dizzying fame, but it was her vibrant life before their marriage and then hidden afterwards, that is truly fascinating. Based on in-depth research and exclusive interviews with friends, family members, teachers, roommates, and colleagues, this comprehensive biography reveals a multi-faceted woman worthy of our attention regardless of her husband and untimely death"--

Saved in:

Holdings -

South Hill

Barcode Status Material Type CallNumber Availability
37413322137201 Checked out New Adult Non-Fiction B KENNEDY BELLER  Place A Hold
Bibliographic Details
Main Author: Beller, Elizabeth (Author)
Format: Book
Language:English
Published: New York : Gallery Books 2024.
Edition:First Gallery Books hardcover edition.
Subjects:
Click to Expand/Hide Other Versions -
Search Result 1
Once upon a time
The captivating life of carolyn bessette-kennedy
ebook
by Beller, Elizabeth
Published 2024
 Place a Hold

MARC

LEADER 00000cam a22000008i 4500
001 950143
008 231216t20242024nyufo b 001 0beng
005 20240522190600.9
010 |a  2023050828 
020 |a 9781982178963 
020 |a 1982178965 
035 |a (OCoLC)1405186919 
040 |a DLC  |b eng  |e rda  |c DLC  |d OCLCF  |d OCLCO  |d TOH  |d LJW  |d OCO  |d IUO  |d IUK 
042 |a pcc 
043 |a n-us---  |a n-us-ma 
049 |a UAGA 
082 0 0 |a 659.2/974692092  |a B  |2 23/eng/20231227 
092 |a B KENNEDY BELLER 
100 1 |a Beller, Elizabeth,  |e author.  |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/n2023072862 
245 1 0 |a Once upon a time :  |b the captivating life of Carolyn Bessette-Kennedy /  |c Elizabeth Beller. 
246 3 0 |a Captivating life of Carolyn Bessette-Kennedy 
250 |a First Gallery Books hardcover edition. 
263 |a 2405 
264 1 |a New York :  |b Gallery Books  |c 2024. 
264 4 |c Ã2024 
300 |a xvii, 329 pages, 16 unnumbered pages of plates, photographs ;  |c 24 cm 
336 |a text  |b txt  |2 rdacontent 
336 |a still image  |b sti  |2 rdacontent 
337 |a unmediated  |b n  |2 rdamedia 
338 |a volume  |b nc  |2 rdacarrier 
504 |a Includes bibliographical references and index. 
505 0 |a Last night : July 16, 1999 -- Westchester : 1966-1977 -- Days of Greenwich : 1977-1983 -- Beantown : 1983-1989 -- Champagne supernovas : spring 1989-Spring 1992 -- Ann's girl, Jackie's boy : Spring 1992-Fall 1992 -- Much ado : Spring 1993-Spring 1994 -- Working girl : Summer 1994-Fall 1994 -- Meet the family : Fall 1994-Fall 1995 -- Sunday in the park with George : February 1996-March 1996 -- Sprezzatura : April 1996 -- Back to work : spring and summer 1996 -- The wedding : September 1996 -- Days of wine and roses : September 1996-November 1996 -- Friends and foes : November 1996-January 1997 -- Help wanted : February 1997-April 1997 -- A death in Milan : May 1997-August 1997 -- Burning at both ends : September 1997-December 1997 -- Mrs. Kennedy and the vicious circle : January 1998-March 1998 -- The rumor mill : April 1998-August 1998 -- September 1998-December 1998 -- Little Edie : January 1999-March 1999 -- A moment's reprieve : April 1999-June 1999 -- July 1999. 
520 |a "The life and legacy of Carolyn Bessette-Kennedy, wife of John F. Kennedy Jr., are reexamined in this captivating and effervescent biography that is perfect for fans of My Travels with Mrs. Kennedy, What Remains, and Fairy Tale Interrupted. A quarter of a century after the plane crash that claimed the lives of John F. Kennedy Jr., his wife Carolyn, and sister-in-law Lauren, the magnitude of this tragedy remains fresh. Yet, Carolyn is still an enigmatic figure, a woman whose short life in the spotlight was besieged with misogyny and cruelty. Amidst today's cultural reckoning about the way our media treats women, Elizabeth Beller explores the real person behind the tabloid headlines and media frenzy. When she began dating America's prince, Carolyn was increasingly thrust into an overwhelming spotlight filled with relentless paparazzi who reacted to her reserve with a campaign of harassment and vilification. To this day, she is still depicted as a privileged princess-icy, vapid, and drug-addicted. She has even been accused of being responsible for their untimely death, allegedly delaying take-off until she finished her pedicure. But now, she is revealed as never before. A fiercely independent woman devoted to her adopted city and career, Carolyn relied on her impeccable eye and drive to fly up the ranks at Calvin Klein in the glossy, high-stakes fashion world of the 1990s. When Carolyn met her future husband, John was immediately drawn to her strong-willed personality, effortless charm, and high intelligence. Their relationship would change her life and catapult her to dizzying fame, but it was her vibrant life before their marriage and then hidden afterwards, that is truly fascinating. Based on in-depth research and exclusive interviews with friends, family members, teachers, roommates, and colleagues, this comprehensive biography reveals a multi-faceted woman worthy of our attention regardless of her husband and untimely death"--  |c Provided by publisher. 
600 1 0 |a Kennedy, Carolyn Bessette,  |d 1966-1999.  |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/n2003036252 
600 1 0 |a Kennedy, John F.,  |c Jr.,  |d 1960-1999  |x Marriage. 
650 0 |a Press agents  |z United States  |v Biography. 
610 2 0 |a Calvin Klein, Inc.  |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/n2003002806 
650 0 |a Aircraft accidents  |z Massachusetts  |z Martha's Vineyard. 
655 7 |a Biographies.  |2 lcgft  |0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/genreForms/gf2014026049 
938 |a Brodart  |b BROD  |n 135526094 
938 |a YBP Library Services  |b YANK  |n 20532054 
994 |a C0  |b UAG 
999 f f |s 6af4c042-8ba6-4081-87e8-104276f76b92  |i ef0df0fd-836a-497a-a277-10743d84f868  |t 0 
952 f f |p Standard Circulation  |a City of Spokane  |b Spokane Public Library  |c Branches  |d South Hill  |t 0  |e B KENNEDY BELLER  |i New Adult Non-Fiction  |m 37413322137201